Home / Useful Infos / Districts of Cape Town

Districts of Cape Town

districts of cape town

Cape Town is a city of approximately 3.5 million inhabitants.

The name Cape Town refers to both the city and the municipality, whose current scope was territorially and politically reorganised in 2000 from six former administrative entities.

The historic City Bowl consists of several suburbs of the City of Greater Cape Town from 1913. The city also has incorporated several towns and suburbs in the 20th century to the present form, which in 2000 was called the City of Cape Town.

Each area has different characteristics, due to its proximity to the sea, mountains or shopping malls; the demographic of the people (e.g. students in neighbourhoods around the university) and the architecture (e.g. streets of terraced houses in Victorian-style or large modern buildings).

For practical reasons the districts of Cape Town are separated into six regions:

  • West Coast
  • Northern Suburbs
  • Southern Suburbs
  • City Bowl
  • Atlantic Seaboard
  • Southern Peninsula

On this page you will find a description of each district, with their principal characteristics.

A fusion of Nature and Culture – Cape Town

So now that you have received those hard-working certificate, degree or whatever, your next step will be getting an internship somewhere in your selected field. But the question on your mind will be, where exactly? Cape Town perhaps? According to statistics, Cape Town, South Africa is the place to be and to enjoy life while moving up in the corporate …

Read More »

Useful information about Cape Town

Situated between the mountains and oceans, with many nationals parks it is truly the heart of South Africa and there is no place Like Cape Town. Therefore it is called the Mother City. It is the oldest city in South Africa which spans about 300 years. South Africa officially has 11 languages, which most people are capable of speaking English, …

Read More »

West Coast

The West Coast in Cape Town stretches north from the centre, with easy access to long beaches of white sand. House prices are relatively affordable. Modern houses are set along large, palm-fringed avenues and lagoons with flamingos. The principal suburbs are Milnerton, Table View, West Beach, Bloubergstrand and Melkbosstrand. The latter is situated on the coast, with spectacular views of Table Mountain. The region …

Read More »

Northern Suburbs

The Northern Suburbs in Cape Town consist of Century City, Parklands and Bellville and are close to hilly countryside with plenty of vineyards. There are fourteen wine estates to visit like Altydgedacht or D'aria. Durbanville is a very green suburb, where prices are fairly middling, even for luxury villas. The area has many shopping centres. Further out, you will find Brakenfell and Kuils River where home prices are more …

Read More »

Cape Town

The city centre is called the City Bowl in Cape Town because it takes the form of a bowl, surrounded by the sea on one side and Table Mountain, Signal Hill and Lion’s Head on the other. It is a natural amphitheatre.  Here you will find the central business district of Cape Town, the harbour, the Company’s Garden and residential suburbs. There …

Read More »

Atlantic Seaboard

The area south of downtown takes its name, the Atlantic Seaboard, from its location along the Atlantic Coast, while the northern districts are the beginning of the West Coast. Green Point, de Waterkant and Sea Point are residential areas surrounded by bars, restaurants, shops, offices and schools. The famous Sea Point Promenade borders this district. You can see people run, walk, skateboard or …

Read More »

Southern Suburbs

The Southern Suburbs in Cape Town are on the slopes of Table Mountain. The University of Cape Town is located here, as well as the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Gardens. It is a very green and leafy area, ideal for those who love nature and do not want seafront property. Nevertheless, the beach is still only a 15-minute drive away. Its tranquil …

Read More »

Southern Peninsula

One of the Southern Peninsula’s main features is the Cape of Good Hope. This area is a natural reserve, but there are several areas of the peninsula that were once villages and are now included, at least nominally, in the city of Cape Town. These are often picturesque districts with luxury homes, at times quite affordable. Noordhoek, Kommetjie and Scarborough are located on …

Read More »